Skip to content
2024 Rome Prize

2024 Rome Prize

American Academy in Rome

For over a century, the American Academy in Rome has awarded the Rome Prize to support innovative and cross-disciplinary work in the arts and humanities. Each year, the Rome Prize is awarded to about thirty artists and scholars who represent the highest standard of excellence.

Fellowships are chosen from the following disciplines: Ancient studies; Architecture; Design: includes graphic, industrial, interior, exhibition, set, costume, and fashion design, urban design, city planning, engineering, and other design fields; Historic preservation and conservation; Landscape architecture: includes environmental design and planning, landscape/ecological urbanism, landscape history, sustainability and ecological studies, and geography; Literature: includes fiction, literary nonfiction, and poetry; Medieval studies; Modern Italian studies; Musical composition; Renaissance and early modern studies; Visual arts: includes painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, film and video, installation, new media, digital arts, and other visual-arts fields

Additionally, AAR is pleased to offer the Tsao Family Rome Prize, to be awarded to a humanities scholar whose project explores the relationship between Chinese and Mediterranean philosophical traditions.

The deadline for the nationwide Rome Prize competition is November 1, 2023. Applications will also be accepted between November 2 and 15 for an additional fee. No applications will be accepted after November 15.

Full-term fellowships generally run from early September through the following June. Winners of half-term fellowships may indicate a preference to begin in September or February.

Each Rome Prize winner is provided with a stipend, meals, a bedroom with private bath, and a private workspace. Those with children under eighteen live in partially subsidized apartments nearby. Winners of half- and full-term fellowships receive stipends of $16,000 and $30,000, respectively.

Rome Prize winners are the core of the Academy’s residential community, which also includes Residents, Affiliated Fellows, and Visiting Artists and Scholars. Life at the Academy is most fully realized through the participation of all community members, in conversation with each other and deeply engaged with Rome’s historical and modern identity.

Applicants for all Rome Prize Fellowships, except those applying for the National Endowment for the Humanities postdoctoral fellowships, must be United States citizens at the time of their application.
US citizens, and foreign nationals who have lived in the United States for three years immediately preceding the application deadline, may apply for the NEH postdoctoral fellowships in ancient studies, medieval studies, Renaissance and early modern studies, and modern Italian studies.
Graduate students in the humanities may apply for predoctoral fellowships only if they are all but dissertation (ABD). Previous winners of the Rome Prize are not eligible to reapply. Undergraduate students are not eligible for Rome Prize Fellowships.

Winners of the Rome Prize may hold other fellowships concurrently, as long as the requirements do not conflict with the winner’s full participation in the Academy community. Applicants are required to disclose all fellowships and awards they expect to hold during their proposed residency in Rome, including sabbatical pay.
Rome Prize winners may not hold a full-time job during the fellowship term. Winners may undertake part-time work commitments—including scholarly or artistic work that is not related to their Rome Prize project—provided that this work does not interfere with the winner’s full participation in the Academy community.

The deadline for applications is November 1. Applications are also accepted between November 2 and 15 for an additional fee.
$40 if submitting one application
$50 if submitting two or more applications
$70 if submitting one application
$80 if submitting two or more applications

Further information: