Skip to content

James Harrison Steedman Fellowship in Architecture

2021 Theme: Disruption

The James Harrison Steedman Fellowship in Architecture is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in the United States. The $75,000 award is granted biannually to an emerging architect to support 6-12 months of international travel for architectural research. The fellowship, jointly administered by Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis and AIA St. Louis, is open to anyone, anywhere in the world, who has received an accredited degree in architecture within the last eight years.

2021 Theme: Disruption
We are living in disruptive times as we live out the Anthropocene, defined by climate crisis driving unprecedented current and future weather extremes and an ongoing global pandemic, alongside centuries of systemic racism in stark need of addressing. In order to rapidly pivot from current trajectories, the IPCC* has called for urgent disruption to change course. Radical solutions are required at all scales and systems. How does Architecture—in all its modalities—disrupt and drive change? How can architecture have a measurable impact? What are the disruptions to define the next decade? And will they redefine design?

Fellows must be able to complete their proposed projects within 18 months of receiving the award.
Additionally, at the conclusion of their fellowship, Fellows must make arrangements to share their research with the Washington University and local AIA architectural communities.

Further information: