Skip to content
Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art

Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art

Funding programme: British art and architectural history

The Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art (PMC) is an educational charity that champions new ways of understanding British art history and culture. The Centre offers a variety of grants (for institutions and individuals) and fellowships (for individuals) twice a year in a strictly timetabled schedule. Exceptionally, PMC also occasionally supports larger research projects developed through partnerships with other organisations.

The PMC funding programme supports scholarship, academic research and the dissemination of knowledge in the fields of British art and architectural history, and of British visual culture understood more broadly, from the medieval period to the present day and across the spectrum of relevant geographical and cultural contexts. There are funding opportunities designed for academics, scholars, authors, curators and museum professionals, postgraduate students and independent researchers as well as some designed for institutions, organisations and publishers. Each funding opportunities have individual eligibility requirements.

All the funding opportunities, apart from the MA/MPhil Studentship and Doctoral Scholarship, are open to international applicants.

All supported topics must clearly connect to the PMC’s mission. PMC funds research-led projects and activities that are rigorous in their critical and analytical methods. PMC does not offer grants and fellowships in the areas of field archaeology, the current practice of architecture or the performing arts. Applications in the fields of photography, film and digital media will need to demonstrate their relevance to British art studies.

Institutions can apply for two different grant categories per award round (e.g. a Publication Grant and a Curatorial Research Grant in the autumn round).
Individuals applying for a fellowship cannot apply for any other award in the same round. Individuals applying for awards other than fellowships can apply for up to two different grant categories per award round.

Further information: