Skip to content
2019 Royal Academy Dorfman Award winner Boonserm Premthada receiving the prize from Sir Lloyd Dorfman CBE

The Royal Academy Dorfman Award

Open call for nominations

The Royal Academy Dorfman Award is for an architect, practice or collective whose work demonstrates the future potential of architecture.

The Award is distinguished by the fact that architects do not propose themselves, but rather are put forward by knowledgeable and respected nominators.
From these nominations an international jury will select four finalists, who will be invited to London with travel expenses covered, to participate in public events and present to the jury as part of Awards Week in September 2022.

The Royal Academy Dorfman Award is seeking ambitious projects and forms of practice that highlight new ways of working, forms and approaches to architecture, taking into consideration geographical and socio-political conditions. The prize highlights how architectural practice is adapting and innovating; and celebrates new ideas as they emerge in relation to challenges such as rapid economic growth, urban development, and climate change.

The recipient will have a convincing body of work that reflects the highest ambitions for architecture, although it may be limited by scale or opportunity – for example restricted to smaller or speculative projects, contained within a particular global location, or affected by societal challenges.

The winner of the award will receive £10,000.

The Royal Academy Dorfman Award invites you to put forward up to 4 nominations of people with whose work you know well and have visited.

Further information: